Taekwondo Belts

During your children’s training in Taekwondo, they will go through phases with increasing difficulty and challenges. Each phase is represented by a colored belt. Our classes are held with all belt levels training together, but specific attention is paid to help advance children from their current belt to the next.


Here is a summary of the specific challenges they can expect at each phase:

White Belt
Everyone begins at the White Belt level… Even your instructors! White represents purity and an open mind to learn. At the White Belt level, they learn the Keebon One form, and basic techniques such as the Front kick, Roundhouse, Side Kick, Front stance, middle punch and Low Block, among others.
Yellow Belt
This is the next level after white. At this stage, most students are familiar with the very basic movements, but many challenges still lie ahead. Yellow represents the Earth, as much of the foundation for the rest of the program is set here.At the Yellow Belt stage, they must learn and practice the Taeguk Il Jang form, and are introduced to the Back Kick, and Front Stance.
Orange Belt
Once student complete the Yellow Belt requirements, they advance to Orange Belt. This color represents the sun rising and sprouting many new developments and abilities. At this stage, students learn the Taeguk Ee Jang form, as well as a development of the Back Kick we call the Trap Back Kick. Other techniques learned are the High Punch, Middle Block, High Block, and others.
Green Belt
This color represents a plant as it grows out from the ground. Many new abilities and positive attitudes begin to sprout from the students at this stage. Here students learn the Taeguk Sam Jang form, and practice the Axe Kick as a breaking and sparring technique. They also learn the Back Stance, and others.
Purple Belt
At the Purple Belt level, students have already acquired the foundational knowledge of Taekwondo, yet there is still much to learn from this point onward. Purple represents the forms of the Earth with stature, such as mountains and tall trees. Purple Belt students work on the form known as Taeguk Sah Jang, and also the 360º Kick.
Blue Belt
The color Blue represents a clear sky, and students reaching this level have certainly made high progress towards excellence at Taekwondo. Blue Belt students must learn the Taeguk Oh Jang form, and work on mastering the Spin Hook Kick.
Brown Belt
This belt symbolizes the trees firmly rooted in the earth. In like manner, Brown Belt students are considered to have learned most (though not all) of the basics of Taekwondo, and upon that foundation will continue building intermediate and advanced techniques.At this stage, students learn the Taeguk Yuk Jang form, and begin combining some of the techniques learned in previous stages.
Red Belt
This color represents a sunset, as the symbolic day of basic training is coming to an end to make way for the advanced stages of Taekwondo. Red Belt students learn Taeguk Chil Jang and Taeguk Pal Jang, which include many combinations of techniques learned in previous stages. This is a crucial stage of development, as it precedes the Black Belt stage.
Black Belt
The shade known as black is a combination of all colors, and so does the Black Belt stage combine all techniques learned all the way from the White Belt level. Many people believe the Black Belt is the final goal, but as in any discipline, reaching the mastery level only opens more opportunities to grow and improve upon. Black Belt students are considered leaders and examples for other students making their way upwards, and for this reason receive a class salutation before and after each class. The first form learned at this stage is Poomsae Koryo, and from there many more combinations and forms assist in continuing their mastery and advancement.

To know more about our program contact us, or stop by, and try a couple of complimentary classes…

Top ⇪